Agatha Raisin (Biddestone)

Agatha Raisin is a delightful British television series that brings to life the beloved mystery novels by M.C. Beaton.

The show follows the adventures of Agatha Raisin (played by Ashley Jensen), a sharp-witted and spirited PR executive who, after retiring to the picturesque Cotswolds, finds herself entangled in a series of baffling murder mysteries.

Biddestone (Cotswolds, England)

 Getting there

  • Closest train station: Chippenham
  • Drive from London to Biddestone (2 hours)
  • Drive from Bristol to Biddestone (40 minutes)

 Things to do nearby

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links, without any extra cost to you.

Where was Agatha Raisin filmed?

The show is set primarily in the fictional village of Carsley, with the village of Biddestone in northwest Wiltshire bringing it to life on screen. Biddestone boasts a stunning Village Green adorned with rows of charming stone houses, and a picturesque duck pond that frequently graces the screen in the series.

Filming locations have also included Malmesbury in Wiltshire, Chavenage House in Gloucestershire, Clevedon, Frome in Somerset, Clevedon Pier, Orchardleigh Estate, and South Wraxall Village Hall.

Scenes featuring Agatha’s home in fictional Carsley were filmed at Elm Cottage in Biddestone.

The real-life cottage is Grade II Heritage Listed and you can view its entry in the National Heritage List for England (NHLE).


Biddestone. - panoramio

Getting there

The White Horse, Biddestone - - 1763141

Biddestone Village Wellhouse - - 515521

Duckpond at Biddestone - - 56550

2 thoughts on “Agatha Raisin (Biddestone)”

  1. Peter

    Hi there!

    I am coming to England soon [from Australia], and I am sure to visit these sights. Thank you for putting them here for me to see. Love your work.
    Good luck,

    1. cosypursuits

      Thanks for getting in touch. I hope you have a fabulous trip Peter!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top